College Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Virginia Highlands Community College Board is comprised of nine community members who serve as an advisory board to the State Board for Community Colleges. Board members play a key role in the development and evaluation of programs and services that ensure VHCC remains responsive to community needs.

As the list below indicates, the Board includes three members appointed by the Bristol Virginia City Council, four members appointed by the Washington County Board of Supervisors, and two members appointed by the Smyth County Board of Supervisors. Each member is appointed for a four-year term and can serve for two consecutive terms.

Appointed by the City of Bristol

Ms. Catherine Brillhart, Vice Chair
Mr. Joe Kerr
Mr. James (Jamey) F. Rector, Jr.

Appointed by Smyth County

Ms. Kimberly R. Clark

Appointed by Washington County

Mr. Thomas (Tom) M. Hicok
Mr. Tony Miller
Mr. Joseph C. Straten, Chair
Dr. John Lentz

The Checkers of Sound

Arts Array - Spencer-Miller Concert Series

The Checkers of SoundThe annual Spencer-Miller concert series kicks off with an afternoon of classical music from a group of talented performers. Dr. Priscilla Porterfield, Dr. Andrea Cheeseman, Dr. Joseph Trivette, Dr. Karen L. Robertson, and Dr. Rodney Reynersen will each perform during this special event.

Cost: $10

Return to full list >>