VHCC will be operating on a snow schedule today, March 21, 2018 - 

College Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Virginia Highlands Community College Board is comprised of nine community members who serve as an advisory board to the State Board for Community Colleges. Board members play a key role in the development and evaluation of programs and services that ensure VHCC remains responsive to community needs.

As the list below indicates, the Board includes three members appointed by the Bristol Virginia City Council, four members appointed by the Washington County Board of Supervisors, and two members appointed by the Smyth County Board of Supervisors. Each member is appointed for a four-year term and can serve for two consecutive terms.

Appointed by the City of Bristol

Ms. Catherine Brillhart, Vice Chair
Mr. Joe Kerr
Mr. James (Jamey) F. Rector, Jr.

Appointed by Smyth County

Ms. Kimberly R. Clark

Appointed by Washington County

Mr. Thomas (Tom) M. Hicok
Mr. Tony Miller
Mr. Joseph C. Straten, Chair
Dr. John Lentz

Constitution Day Celebration

  • Date: 09/14/2017 2:00 PM
  • Location: ISC 130

David Winship, a local Colonial/Revolutionary Era reenactor, will read the Preamble to the Constitution and will discuss the role of the militia in the Colonial Era. Constitution Day is celebrated on September 17, the day that the U.S. Constitution was signed. On September 17, 1787 thirty-nine delegates signed the U.S. Constitution and established our framework of government. Each year we celebrate Constitution Day to commemorate the founding of our national government and to reflect on the meaning of citizenship today.

If you’d like to explore topics related to Constitution Day, check out these resources

The National Constitution Center

The National Constitution Center has created a new iTunes app. The app is free and will give you access to a copy of the Constitution, the Center’s newswire with daily updates on constitutionally related news stories.

Interactive Constitution

Constitutional Convention video

Restore the Bill of Rights Game

Return to full list >>