College Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Virginia Highlands Community College Board is comprised of nine community members who serve as an advisory board to the State Board for Community Colleges. Board members play a key role in the development and evaluation of programs and services that ensure VHCC remains responsive to community needs.

As the list below indicates, the Board includes three members appointed by the Bristol Virginia City Council, four members appointed by the Washington County Board of Supervisors, and two members appointed by the Smyth County Board of Supervisors. Each member is appointed for a four-year term and can serve for two consecutive terms.

Appointed by the City of Bristol

Catherine Brillhart, Chair
Donald Bowman
Beth Rhinehart 

Appointed by Smyth County

Kimberly Clark
Becky Pennington

Appointed by Washington County

Tom Hicok
Dr. John Lentz, Vice Chair
Tony Miller
Joe Straten

Perfecting the Interview: Insider Tips from Working Professionals

Building Your Brand

  • Date: 11/30/2017 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
  • Location: NEB 120

Building Your Brand

 Social Media Do’s and Don’ts:
Controlling Your Message

September 28 at 2 p.m.

Resume Building:
Interactive Workshop Using a Flash Drive

October 30 at 2 p.m.

Perfecting the Interview:
Insider Tips from Working Professionals

Take home a portfolio for future interviews
November 30 at 2 p.m.


All sessions are free to VHCC students and will be held in NEB-120.
For additional information, please contact Ben King, in ISC 100-D, at or (276) 739-2434.

Return to full list >>