College Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Virginia Highlands Community College Board is comprised of nine community members who serve as an advisory board to the State Board for Community Colleges. Board members play a key role in the development and evaluation of programs and services that ensure VHCC remains responsive to community needs.

As the list below indicates, the Board includes three members appointed by the Bristol Virginia City Council, four members appointed by the Washington County Board of Supervisors, and two members appointed by the Smyth County Board of Supervisors. Each member is appointed for a four-year term and can serve for two consecutive terms.

Appointed by the City of Bristol

Ms. Catherine Brillhart, Vice Chair
Ms. Beth D. Rhinehart
Mr. James (Jamey) F. Rector, Jr.

Appointed by Smyth County

Ms. Kimberly R. Clark

Appointed by Washington County

Mr. Thomas (Tom) M. Hicok
Mr. Tony Miller
Mr. Joseph C. Straten, Chair
Dr. John Lentz

Jazz: America’s Music

Arts Array - Spencer-Miller Concert Series

  • Date: 11/12/2017 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
  • Location: Sinking Spring Presbyterian Church

Jazz: America’s MusicA recital chronologically demonstrating all styles of Jazz and seeking to educate listeners to the origins and development of Jazz music. You’ll hear styles including Dixieland, African-inspired works, Big Band Swing, Bebop, Cool Jazz, Latin, and Fusion, performed by an amazing collection of professional musicians. Composers include Gershwin, Hancock, Gillespie, and Strayhorn. This popular exciting concert is back by demand & will be led by Dr. Joseph Trivette the Artistic Director and Pianist. Trivette is the holder of the Albert Endowed Chair of Music at Southwest Virginia Community College. His various ensembles have achieved outstanding local and national acclaim.

Return to full list >>